As per the Code of Virginia § 18.2-371.1. Abuse and neglect of children; penalty; abandoned infant
- Any parent or guardian in charge for a child below the age of eighteen found neglecting or deliberately declining to take care of the child’s safety and health, causes or permits serious wound or injury to the health or life of the child, will be judged guilty of committing a Class 4 felony. The penalty for this crime will be the offender paying a fine of no more than $100,000, as well as serving 2 to ten years as jail time.
What is meant by “serious injury”?
- a fracture,
- a severe laceration or burn,
- fatal internal injuries.
- forced consumption of unsafe substances, and
- Any parent or guardian in charge for a child below the age of eighteen found neglecting or deliberately declining to take care of the child was wanton, culpable, gross, and showing negligence will be deemed guilty of committing a Class 6 felony. The punishment for this offense will be considered as a felony where the penalty will be serving 1 to 5 years in prison. Nevertheless, the court of Richmond – Virginia has all the authority and power to alleviate the sentence to no more than 12 months in prison and/or pay fine of no more than $2,500.
- If the accused guardian or parent of the minor leaves the minor at an emergency medical service institution or a hospital within the first 14 days of the child’s life, the prosecution can use this as their favorable defense.
- If any parent or guardian responsible for a minor below the age of eighteen carries out or allows to be carried out upon the child, any sexual act;
- If any parent or guardian responsible for a minor below the age of eighteen has resorted to the child’s spiritual treatment in good faith, will not be considered as a violation of this section.
Where Can a Petersburg – Virginian citizen Report Suspected Child Neglect and Abuse?
If any Petersburg – Virginian citizen finds a suspected case of child abuse, they need to report to the Virginia Department of Social Services Child Protective Services division. Any accusations of child neglecting reported to the Child Protective Services of Virginia will be looked into and dealt with.
They will have to follow some certain criteria to decide if it is a case of child neglect.
- The supposed culprit was a caretaker, guardian or parent; and
- The suspected incident happened in Virginia;
- Legal standards for neglect were met.
- The incident involved a child under 18;
Your Petersburg – Virginian Criminal Defense Attorney Will Be There For You
Being charged with child neglect is a critical and serious matter that can lead to some negative consequences for yourself. You need to get help from your skilled and experienced criminal defense attorney if you have been accused of child neglect. Your Petersburg – Virginian lawyer will be there to successfully represent you in court. You must be well aware of all your options on how to tackle your offenses. Your lawyer will make sure you are.